DJ Shadow: All Bases Covered Mix [Free Download] - Idol Threat: Warning Shots at the Mainstream


Saturday, February 02, 2013

DJ Shadow: All Bases Covered Mix [Free Download]

"I don't care if I get kicked out of every rich kid club on the planet. I will never sacrifice my integrity as a DJ...ever" 

Back in December the Miami club Mansion caused some controversy by cutting short DJ Shadow's set because it was "too future," which basically meant it wasn't commercial enough.  I honestly don't know what idiot promoter books an act he's never heard of or even researches but if he was expecting the legendary experimental Hip Hop producer to just play a bunch of standard Top 40 hits he would have been better off hiring an iPod DJ or button pusher.  A smart person would want to know what he's paying for instead of blindly cashing in on someone's reputation.  It's not that much of a surprise however in this day and age of auto-sync and pretend celebrity djs, it's sad because back in the day deejays received enough unwarranted criticism for basically being "jukeboxes" from live musicians without this new crop of talent-less hacks proving their point.  Regardless it was their loss because his set is amazing! You can see for yourself since Shadow has now uploaded the mix for download at the link below, here's what his Soundcloud had to say about the infamous set:

"Beginning in the Summer of 2012 with his Low End Theory guest spots, DJ Shadow's "All Basses Covered" set has morphed and evolved to incorporate as many different contemporary genres of urban and electronic music as possible. From hardcore rap to footwork and juke and beyond, Shadow has combed the web to curate seamless and dexterous blends of the most progressive sounds bubbling up from the underground. 'Too hard?' 'Too future?' Or just too raw? As always, DJ Shadow has provoked crucial flashpoints of discussion about the discipline of DJ'ing that have defined our turbulent times." Team

This is what "Warning Shots at the Mainstream" is all about.

Download/Stream Here: All Bases Covered

No comments:

Post a Comment