Weekly Threats: Recommended New Releases For 10/27/17 & 11/3/17 - Idol Threat: Warning Shots at the Mainstream


Saturday, November 04, 2017

Weekly Threats: Recommended New Releases For 10/27/17 & 11/3/17

Big K.R.I.T. - 4eva Is a Mighty Long Time
With B.o.B. being busy spreading the news of a flat earth and claiming that the American slave ships never existed, its nice to know that we can still depend on another acronymed southern rapper!  Mississippi producer/MC Big K.R.I.T. brings us his new 22 track double album "4eva Is a Mighty Long Time."  The project features a star-studded guest list including UGK, T.I., CeeLo, Bilal, Jill Scott, Sleepy Brown and Robert Glasper Jr.

Converge - The Dusk In Us

Legendary metalcore band Converge returns with their ninth studio album "The Dusk In Us."  It may seem difficult for a band that's been in existence for nearly 3 decades to keep putting out quality music, but Converge once again delivers with an album that may be their cleanest production-wise but still remains as heavy and noisy as ever.

Cannibal Corpse - Red Before Black
Death Metal masters 14th album "Red Before Black" maintains the balance of heavy and technical that they're known for and prove that the band are still as savage as ever! Corpsegrinder's throat shredding vocals shows no signs of relenting and his delivery is still one of the best in Death Metal! For their latest album you can expect horror-filled lyrics with brutal bass, blast beats and guitar riffage. Always dependable but never predictable, if you're looking for solid death metal Cannibal Corpse will never disappoint.

Mr. Lif & Brass Mena┼żeri - Resilient
Mr. Lif has been relatively silent before releasing 'The Life & Death of Scenery' and 'Don't Look Down' last year. The Boston underground rapper had not released a solo album for 7 years prior to those two, and the album he released this past July with his partner DJ Fakts One was the first album released in a dozen years by The Perceptionists. When Lif was invited to perform at the 2011 Seattle Folk Festival he came lacking a band, and so the festival organizer brought up San Francisco Bay Area Balkan brass band Brass Mena┼żeri to back him up. The unique pairing was not only a success at the festival but seemed to spark some chemistry between the two, and that lifelong friendship has finally resulted in a collaborative album.

Austin, Texas Experimental synth quartet Survive gained prominence by providing the theme for the insanely popular Netflix show Stranger Things, so you know they needed a release to coincide with the premier of the show's second season! RR7387 is a remix album of tracks from their Relapse debut RR7349 and features Lena Willkens, Not Waving, Sam Haar and Justin K Broadrick as JK FLESH doing the remixes.

All Pigs Must Die - Hostage Animal
For those disappointed by the dissolution of metallic hardcore band Trap Them, you can find some solace in the Supergroup All Pigs Must Die as they have expanded their lineup by adding Trap Them’s Brian Izzi. The group already consisted of Kevin Baker from The Hope Conspiracy, Ben Koller of Converge, and Matt Woods & Adam Wentworth of Bloodhorse, so the addition of Izzi is almost overkill at this point! It's been 4 years since their last release with Hostage Animal being their 3rd, but their fusion of crust punk, hard core and metal is still as searing as ever.

Meyhem Lauren & DJ Muggs - Gems From The Equinox
Meyhem has already proven himself to be a solid Queens rapper before gaining more popularity with Action Bronson as both a rapper and guest star for Action's various TV and internet shows. The pairing of him with legendary Cypress Hill producer DJ Muggs will only further cement his place in the current Hip Hop scene, with a strong producer like the Soul Assassin Muggs providing a singular voice behind Lauren's street tales. The project features verses from (of course) Action Bronson, Hologram, B-Real, Roc Marciano, Conway, Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire and a surprise insane guest spot from the late, great Sean Price.

Gnaw - Cutting Pieces
When American metal supergroup Khanate dissolved in 2006 we lost an amazing doom band, but we were able to get an amazing noise band out of their disbandment. Alan Dubin formed an experimental noise group that gave us two albums, 'This Face' in 2009 and 'Horrible Chamber' in 2013. "Cutting Pieces" is just as terrifying as those previous two albums and was released by Translation Loss on October 27th. In addition to the usual scraping vocals, guitar and bass the band has apparently added a lot more instrumentation this time around including a Chinese cello, Weevil, conga, sawed off Kramer, Drone Thing oscillator, Alto sax, homemade light oscillator, micro cassette recorder and a chain link fence. Fuck yes.

No comments:

Post a Comment