Southern Lord: Resurrection (Free Compilation) - Idol Threat: Warning Shots at the Mainstream


Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Southern Lord: Resurrection (Free Compilation)

It was a busy week for me so I apologize for the lack of posts, it’s nice to know that you guys are still reading even when I’m not keeping up with my 2-posts-a-day average. Since it’s Monday (or Tuesday now for all you non-procrastinating bastards) I figured we’d start off slow with a free compilation from Southern Lords Records (the fact that this follows the Xasthur post is pure coincidence. Honest.) I know I’ve been making a lot of Southern Lord posts lately but at least its not as bad as all my Duck Down posts, so if any of you ARE actually bitching then go somewhere else for your free legal music... Still here? Awesome.
This is a pretty good overview of the diverse Southern Lords roster, with my personal stand-outs being the Wino, Eagle Twin and Earth tracks. The compilation is mostly full of pre-released material, but it does include an exclusive Sunn O))) track called “Isengard (Chopped And Screwed).” You guys can hate on Sunn O))) all you want but that is a sick ass track title! I've talked about the legendary Scott “Wino” in my Shrinebuilder review and mentioned his album “Puncuated Equillibrium” in my My Top 10 Albums of 2009 post so no need to further expand on his awesomosity.
Release Me” is a perfect upbeat way to start this compilation off but don't expect anything else on the album to sound like the first track. Eagle Twin contributes a track from their album “The Unkindness Of Crows” which was also part of my Top albums of 2009 post, a spot that it rightfully deserved. They combine all the harshest sub-genres of doom into a smoldering perfection and top it all off with Tom Waits-like vocals (and even some Tuvan throat singing) and their album still stays in heavy rotation for me. Drone legends “Earth” offer up a live rendition of a track from their latest album “The Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull.” I was a huge fan of their older stuff and therefore was a bit disappointed at the “less metal” sound of Earth's newest incarnation, but their new Americana-inflected style has slowly grown on me and is now fast becoming my favorite version of Earth. The compilation also includes tracks from Chicago's own instrumental band Pelican, Thrash legends The Accused, Seattle metallic-hardcore/thrash newcomers Black Breath and more. And if I'm not mistaken artist Seldon Hunt graces the release with a cover that is truly awe-inspiring (I have officially ended each paragraph with a version of the word "awesome." Bow down.)

Here's the tracklisting:

1. Wino "Release Me" (5:53)
2. Pelican "Embedding The Moss" (7:44)
3. Eagle Twin "Murder Of..." (12:08)
4. Wolves In The Throne Room "Wanderer Above The Sea Of Fog" (10:33)
5. Black Cobra "Omniscient" (3:17)
6. The Accused "The Splatterbeast" (2:37)
7. Orcustus "Asphyxiokenisis" (3:51)
8. Black Breath "Murder" (4:12)
9. Virulence "Blank Stare" (5:44)
10. Earth "Junkyard Priest (Live In Vienna)" (8:23)
11. Sunn O))) "Isengard (Chopped And Screwed)" (6:51)

Download the Free Sampler here: Southern Lord - Resurrection

Southern Lords Records Website:

No comments:

Post a Comment